Election Day

I had hoped to bring the boys with me to vote today so they could practice their civic duty. Then the election got close. News-casters started predicting a record turn-out. Voting officials got worried. Steven, on travel all week, waited two hours to vote early.

So I got a sitter and dressed the boys in red, white, and blue instead.

patriots

I went prepared for a long wait – comfortable shoes, dressed in layers, snack, book, umbrella. A hundred years ago, women would have waited as long as it took if only they had the right to vote. Who am I to complain?

It took me five minutes.

Five.

So I got a free coffee from Starbucks and enjoyed a half hour of uninterrupted reading.

November 4, 2008. the boys.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

