Know Your Strengths

It’s no secret I like a good craft project. Now that we have a beautiful new porch, we need somewhere to sit. Of course, now that we have a beautiful new porch, we have no money for furniture. I decided (cue foreboding music) to re-paint the wooden picnic table we already have. After years of service to Steven’s family at their cabin in TN, it has sat outside on our deck. We did what any new owner of an old table would do. We totally neglected it.

No problem, I thought, I’ll just paint it. (Cue additional foreboding music). I thought spray would be the fastest, easiest way to do this. I have a friend who does this all the time.

Before the project:

After two coats of spray paint:

You can’t really see how bad this is. Let me explain… It’s bad. There are big splotches all over. And it’s not even covered after TWO cans of paint.

I have a new-found respect for those guys who spray paint bridges and overpasses. It takes way more skill than I posses.

I figured I needed some kind of outdoor paint, and – Hooray! – Steven found just the thing.

Barn paint! Worked like a charm. In one afternoon I accomplished more than I had done in a week of spray paint.

Now I just need to find some other things to paint, ‘cuz barn paint rocks!

August 13, 2010. Mommy.

3 Comments

  1. Carlin replied:

    Looks great! Now for my own future reference (someday, hopefully soon, we’ll move away from here and need furniture for a new outside space, I hope), where does one buy barn paint?

  2. boysgonewild replied:

    I almost hate to admit this – Walmart. But I bet you can find it at more respectable places like Lowes and Home Depot. It comes in white, too.

  3. libbie replied:

    Elizabeth…I have a BARN calling your name 🙂 We are just about to use your favorite type of paint, BARN paint….to paint our Barn! Please do come up next week and help. You could use an expert.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

